The Eastern Distributor is a 6 km motorway and an important link in Sydney’s orbital motorway network. It features a 1.7 km 'double deck' tunnel, with southbound lanes running underneath the northbound lanes. When you use the Eastern Distributor, you bypass 19 sets of traffic lights and save on travel time.

The Eastern Distributor is electronically tolled with no cash tollbooths. To pay for your travel, open an e-TAG account or buy a Visitor's e-PASS.

Download the Eastern Distributor map

Entries and exits

Northbound Entry Exit
Southern Cross Drive, South Kensington Yes No
Moore Park Road/Anzac Parade, Paddington Yes No
South Dowling Street (from Cleveland Street/Fitzroy Street), Surrey Hills Yes No
William Street/Palmer Street (to Cross City Tunnel), Darlinghurt No Yes
Macquarie Street, Sydney No Yes
Cahill Expressway (to Harbour Bridge and Tunnel) No Yes


Southbound Entry Exit
Cahill Expressway (from Harbour Bridge and Tunnel) Yes No
William Street/Palmer Street, Darlinghurst No Yes
William Lane/Bourke Street, Woolloomooloo Yes No
Cross City Tunnel, Darlinghurst Yes No
Moore Park Road/ Anzac Parade, Paddington Yes No
South Dowling Street (to Dacey Avenue/Todman Avenue), Surrey Hills No Yes
Southern Cross Drive, South Kensington No  

Tunnel safety

The Eastern Distributor clearance height is 4.4 m. Do not enter the tunnel if you are driving an over-height vehicle and observe roadside signs for the alternative route provided.

NSW Health advises that closing your windows and switching your vehicle ventilation to re-circulate will further reduce your exposure to vehicle emissions. These benefits can be achieved whether or not your air conditioning system is in use


Variable speed limits

To improve safety and traffic flow, from October 10 2016 variable speed limits are being introduced on the Eastern Distributor.

Speeds are matched to travel and driving conditions, particularly when there is an incident on the network. Variable speed limits are enforceable and must be obeyed.

To ensure motorists are aware of the current speed, there has been a substantial increase in the number of speed limit signs. There will be 19 southbound variable speed limits signs and 17 in the northbound direction.

The standard speed limit for the Eastern Distributor will remain 80km/h. Variable speed limits already operate in Sydney’s Lane Cove and M5 East Tunnels.